Those Left Behind

20 Jan

In my absence from the working world, I have found I can only do so much cleaning, organizing, and emailing of resumes. In lieu of a Saturday morning spent relaxing at home, I decided to spend my morning volunteering instead. It was so simple to volunteer for Those Left Behind Foundation ( http://www.tlbfoundation.org ), which was a breath of fresh air. I’ve tried volunteering before and I’m either faced with an encyclopedia length application and background check, or I must devote a large quantity of time for orientation and guarantee a set amount of hours to help. I started to feel as if it were more difficult to volunteer for a good cause than it was to get a job! Okay, maybe not, but you get the idea…

I found this opportunity to volunteer through Twitter. It was as easy as entering your zipcode to find events needing volunteers and you click to sign up. I showed up at the time that was posted online, introduced myself to the founders, and I was given a ‘Volunteer’ pin and direction on what was needed. It was that simple! Oh, you need a volunteer to help play with puppies?! OKAY!! Talk about a happy Saturday morning! Puppies galore and cute dogs that just want to play and be held until someone decides to adopt. It was pure joy for me to walk them, play with them, cuddle with them, and watch happy families adopt these abandoned little guys.

When I was about to go home, I decided to ask if I could volunteer regularly. Rae Erickson, COO and Founder of Those Left Behind, told me that they are having a hard time finding foster homes for the pups in between the adoption events. I figured since I am job searching right now, it is the perfect opportunity to really make a difference with my time. I didn’t even question the thought and told Rae I would be glad to help. I decided to foster Captain, an adorable 1-yr old Shih-Tzu/Dachshund mix that wasn’t adopted this round. The foundation provides all of the food and any medical assistance they may need during the time that I foster, so all it is costing me is my time and devotion. Not a bad deal if you ask me.

I love it when one spur-of-the-moment decision turns into an exhilarating life experience. I can’t help but smile thinking that this dog has a warm place to sleep, a bowl of food and water, and some fun and love instead of laying in a small cage somewhere before he gets adopted.

Well, I have a doggy to take care of so I better get to it!

**Adoption events are held every Saturday inside Petco located at 7731 W. Tropical Parkway, Las Vegas, NV, 89129  from 11A-4P**

One of the many puppies up for adoption.

One of the many puppies up for adoption.

Captain, the little guy I'm fostering for the next week, watching television

Captain, the little guy I’m fostering for the next week, watching television

One Response to “Those Left Behind”

  1. Rae Erickson January 20, 2013 at 6:55 am #

    Can you come write for us. Thank you so much for your time today and your desire to foster. We love our charges and when they find homes we follow them. It was wonderful to meet someone dedicated to not only helping the animal but finding a family to help too. Thanks for your time today and in the future. Rae Erickson, Founder, COO “Those Left Behind” Foundation.

Leave a Reply

